Kinmartin: Crime Scenes Now Familiar

Patrick Kinmartin
Matchday 3 facts and figures, for Lunat Fruit and beyond…..
Disquiet has been trouncing defensive units daffy about the resolute energy that Christian Benteke, Gabriel Agbonlahor and Andreas Weimann thrive off of.
Those two yellow cards forced by Agbonlahor during the hectic triumph at the Emirates last weekend and the wreckless Ivanovic card from his Benteke foul Wednesday were the 14th, 15th and 16th yellow violations in the last 12 Villa matches sourced alone by either Benteke, Agbonlahor or Weimann.
In that same span, there have been 16 or fewer yellows forced by three Premier League teams (Newcastle, Stoke City and Sunderland) and even uber-conquering United has sourced just 17 all the while. Below is the look at all those booked via fouls against Villa’s spotlight trio in the past 12 matches.
Weimann (6)
*Shawcross (Stoke City)
*Rose (Sunderland)
*Lampard (Chelsea)
*Koscielny (Arsenal)
*Mbia (Queens Park)
*McAnuff (Reading)
Agbonlahor (5)
*Gerrard (Liverpool)
*Johnson (Norwich)
*Ramires (Chelsea)
*Szczesny (Arsenal)
*Koscielny (Arsenal)
Benteke (5)
*Hoilett (Queens Park)
*Shotton (Stoke City)
*Cuellar (Sunderland)
*Ramires (Chelsea)
*Ivanovic (Chelsea)
Opposition goals are being countered quite regularly now. Two of the three conceded already this season have been answered, running the club total up to 15 under Paul Lambert — and 13 have come since January 1st.
Wednesday’s leveler at Stamford Bridge was among the more notable because of the 39 minutes that lapsed after Chelsea struck first. That marked only the third of the 15 that an opponent was unable to add another goal within 30 minutes of an initial breakthrough against the Villa before ultimately conceding an obdurate answer from the Claret and Blue.
Below is the look at the length of time (in minutes) that has passed after all goals following a concession on the scoreline during the Lambert period.
1  @Reading (9 March)
3  @Everton (2 Feb)
6  vSunderland (29 April)
7  @Stoke City (6 April)
8  vQueens Park (16 March)
15  @Norwich (4 May)
15  @Wigan (19 May)
16  @Arsenal (17 April)
18  vNewcastle (29 January)
22  vQueens Park (16 March)
29  vWest Brom (30 September)*
31  vEverton (25 August)*
35  @Swansea (1 January)
39  @Chelsea (21 August)
62  @Arsenal (23 February)
Ashley Westwood was still somewhat of a League One afterthought approximately at this time a year ago before his instant ascension to the top flight came to fruition. The scope of the promotion is often hailed for good reason.
Without Villa calling, Westwood might have turned in a massive season for Crewe and still remained down in the third division until now.
Luke Murphy and Alan Judge, for example, are the only two members of League One’s 2012-2013 Team of the Year that were signed up into Championship sides this summer. Below is the look at where all 11 honorees are playing at the moment.
GK: Wes Foddrington (Swindon Town/L1)
D: Simon Francis (Bournemouth/L1)
D: Rob Jones (Doncaster*/Ch)
D: Harry Maguire (Sheffield United/L1)
D: Charlie Daniels (Bournemouth/L1)
MF: Matt Ritchie (Bournemouth/L1)
MF: Luke Murphy (Leeds/Ch)
MF: Alan Judge (Blackburn/Ch)
MF: David Cotterill (Doncaster*/Ch)
F: Paddy Madden (Yeovil*/Ch)
F: Leon Clarke (Coventry/L1)
*Promoted up from League One
RIP Malcolm “Wise Up Dear Friends” Everall
—Patrick Kinmartin ( …..

Post Comment